No one–and I mean no one–gives Christianity a worse name in this country than the members of Westboro Baptist Church of Topeka, Kansas. You’ve heard of them, I’m sure. They’re the people who show up at military funerals and various sundry public events with signs that say “God Hates Fags” (among others; given all the people they claim God hates, near as I can tell the only ones He doesn’t hate are the denizens of that “church”). Anyway, a group of San Franciscans has, I think, found the perfect response to Westboro: absurdist ridicule. At the Laughing Squid, Ed Hunsinger offers photos. First, here’s an example of Westboro’s schtick, if you’ve never seen it:

They’ve added “God Hates Jews” to their collection because, believe it or not, they were in San Francisco to protest a production of Fiddler on the Roof! Because, you know, it’s evil to have Jews be the good guys in a play. Or something. Anyway, the “I Have A Sign” guy gives you an idea of what the response looked like:

So, in honor of these merry pranksters, who know that the best answer to creeps like Westboro is to laugh at them, I offer some suggestions for signs folks can make for the next counter-demo, and solicit your suggestions as well:

Squiggy Sent Me

Barnacles Are Itchy

God Hates Nags

What’s It All About, Alfie?

Tea And Crumpets, Anyone?

Bring Back the Edsel!

Monty Python Was Right!

I Love Pizza

That’s enough for now. Contribute yours in the comments, and I’ll highlight the best of them in a future post.

(Hat tip: Alan Michaels on Facebook.)