We’re getting to the end of the Winter Olympics, which have been going on in Vancouver, Canada for the last couple of weeks. I have to admit that I haven’t watched any of it–I can’t get worked up about a “sports festival” that includes ice dancing and curling in the winter games, and synchronized swimming in the summer, but doesn’t include one of the world’s most popular games, baseball. Nevertheless, I want to salute our Canadian friends for their accomplishment. The occasion calls for a song, courtesy of Mystery Science Theater 3000.

MST3K fans will recall this from the episode, “The Final Sacrifice” (one of my favorites; it included the immortal line offered by Crowe as he watched the director’s name, Tjardus Greidanus, scroll across the screen: “that’s an anagram for ‘straight to video,’” as well as one of the all-time best movie character names, “Zap Rowsdower”):

