I was baptized in a Southern Baptist church. I was married in a different Southern Baptist church. I graduated from a Southern Baptist seminary. Boy, am I glad I left the Southern Baptist Convention behind long ago. From the Western Recorder:

Was a western Kentucky church denied admittance to a Baptist association because it is too Calvinistic?

Acting on a report brought by its credentials committee, Daviess-McLean Baptist Association voted 104-9 at its annual meeting last week not to accept Pleasant Valley Community Church in Owensboro for membership.

“Our concern in the initial stages of our investigation revolved around the fact that Pleasant Valley Community Church’s confessional statement is one that (is) Calvinistic in nature. It affirms the doctrine of election and grace,” the report from the association’s credentials committee stated.

“It affirms the doctrine of election and grace”? Heaven forbid!

(Via Associated Baptist Press and RealClearReligion.)

