When I spoke with openly gay bishop Gene Robinson about following him through a particularly harrowing period that he was about to enter, I told him that talking to him was like talking to Joan of Arc, in a time when a doc crew could capture the drama of the church/state firestorm he had found himself in. He laughed but said that it was true – he was caught in the crosshairs of cultural change and it was important to record it along the way, so he invited me to follow him for the next four years.

Macky Alston, director of the film Love Free or Die, a documentary about Joan of Arc Bishop Robinson that premiered at the Sundance Film Festival this week; what “church/state firestorm” Robinson was supposedly caught up in is a mystery to me, but I suppose it does enhance the Joan/Gene analogy

(Via Matt Kennedy at Stand Firm.)