I find the theological statement an improvement, but not yet quite there. I yearn for a clarion trumpet call. This theological statement, I believe, reflects some of the lukewarm-ness of the church. The clarity about making disciples of Jesus Christ – the phrase isn’t even in our theology of mission. The word “salvation” is not even in the Theology of Mission.

Let us not forsake, in the time of doing all the tremendous things we are doing, the gift of the Bread of Life, the One who I believe is Lord and Savior. And that language is not even here. I believe that we need to be bold enough to say it in our Theology of Mission somehow.

–United Methodist Bishop Peter Weaver of Boston, speaking at a meeting of the General Board of Global Ministries about a theological statement that was not made available to the press