When I was growing up, one of my favorite relatives was my “uncle” Harvey (he was actually a second cousin, but so much older than me that my parents thought it would be confusing to call him cousin). Harvey was a kind, gentle soul who let me play the organ he had in the living room of the house he shared with his mother. He never had a bad word to say about anyone, never raised his voice in anger that I ever heard, and took care of his elderly mother with love and grace. Harvey had a friend whose name I don’t remember, who was also a terrific fellow, and we were always glad that the two of them were around when we went to visit my aging “Aunta.”

Harvey, of course, was gay, a fact I didn’t learn about him until I was in college. As I look back on my time with him, I can see the signs, but he felt no need to parade his sexuality in front of children. He preferred to let them grow up without having to deal with stuff they were too young to understand. As a result, I learned to love Harvey in such a way that, when I learned of his sexual orientation, it didn’t change how I felt about him, even though by that time I had become a Christian and learned that homosexuality was contrary to God’s will for humanity. Even so, I loved and respected and appreciated Harvey.

But there are some people who don’t want children to grow up innocent of the sexual stuff that obsesses so many adults. They want to see even the youngest among us exposed to as much of the polymorphous perversity of society as possible even before they go to school. They don’t want children to love people simply for who they are, but for the various sexual hyphenations that must be affixed to everything.

To what am I referring? I refer to a petition that may be found on the web site of a far-left organization called Change.org. Here’s the text in its entirety:

Let Bert & Ernie Get Married On Sesame Street

In this horrific age of LGBT kids taking their own lives, they need to know that they ARE BEAUTIFUL and their lives are worth living. Aside from those that are committing suicide, the bullies that facilitate these tragedies need to learn that homophobia is NOT okay. They need to know that acceptance of their fellow human beings would indeed plant a seed of peace that will reverberate throughout the world. We are not asking that Sesame Street do anything crude or disrespectful by allowing Bert & Ernie to marry. It can be done in a tasteful way. Let us teach tolerance of those that are different. Let Sesame Street and PBS Kids be a big part in saving many worthy lives.

And here’s the “overview”:

In this horrific age of LGBT kids taking their own lives, they need to know that they ARE BEAUTIFUL and their lives are worth living. Aside from those that are committing suicide, the bullies that facilitate these tragedies need to learn that homophobia is NOT okay. They need to know that acceptance of their fellow human beings would indeed plant a seed of peace that will reverberate throughout the world. We are not asking that Sesame Street do anything crude or disrespectful. Only that they allow Bert & Ernie to marry or even add a transgender character to the show. It can be done in a tasteful way. Let us teach tolerance of those that are different. Let Sesame Street and PBS Kids be a big part in saving many worthy lives. Please visit our Facebook page.

There are no words.

Thank goodness, the Sesame Workshop has politely declined the invitation to put genitalia on Bert and Ernie, walk them down the aisle, and have a drag queen give away the…whatever. To date, the petition has received over 5500 signatures, and here’s the really scary thing about that:

Most if not all of those people are actual or potential parents.

(Via several sources, including Hot Air and MCJ.)